Homemade Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream

Gallery

For weeks I’ve been planning to save up extra cash to purchase an ice cream maker at the end of the summer. In preparation and anticipation I bookmarked some recipes from around the site: Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream and Double Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream from A Mom on a Mission (she did a whole week of homemade ice cream recipes!), Strawberry Ice Cream from Domestocrat, Mango Ice Cream from The Opinionated Foodie, and Dark Cherry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream from Frugal Foodie Family.

But when I mentioned to my dad that I was going to buy an ice cream maker, he said: “You want an ice cream maker? What’s wrong with the one we have?”

After a few moments of blank stares as I wondered how I never knew we had an ice cream maker, I was whipping up my first tub of homemade ice cream in our family Cuisinart.

This recipe for peanut butter cup ice cream is pretty simple but VERY rich because it uses whole milk, half-and-half, and sweetened condensed milk. If you want to make it healthier (which is probably a good idea since it’s about 400 calories a serving), you could use 2% or even skim milk in place of the whole milk.

Ingredients: 

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk (2% or whole)
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Miniature Reese’s peanut butter cups, chopped (keep in refrigerator first)

Pour the milk into a medium saucepan and simmer over low heat. While the milk is heating, beat the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer until thick, about 3 minutes. Slowly add the hot milk to the eggs, whisking vigorously. Pour the mixture into the saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until it’s thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon (about 4-5 minutes). Don’t let it boil! Remove from heat and whisk in the peanut butter. Allow to cool for a few minutes and whisk in the sweetened condensed milk, half-and-half, and vanilla extract. Cover and refrigerate until chilled (at least 2 hours).

When you’re ready, pour the mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions (mine took 25 minutes). Fold in the chopped peanut butter cups while the mixture is still soft, then transfer the ice cream to a container with a lid and freeze for at least 2 hours before eating. You can add chopped peanuts, crushed Oreo’s, chocolate syrup, or anything you want to your ice cream.

Anybody else have a homemade ice cream recipe I should try? I’m thinking that I want something with fruit, maybe something not quite so dense and rich. Any help would be much appreciated!

13 responses »

  1. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  2. Oh my god, this sounds and looks absolutely incredible. Anything made with Reese’s and I’m on board. We have an ice cream maker at home and I’ve tried making hazelnut gelato and hibiscus ice cream, although neither turned out incredibly well. I guess I’ll just have to keep trying — and this recipe is really tempting me to make more ice cream.

    Halie

    • Hazlenut gelato sounds really good. Like Nutella in ice cream form! But if you haven’t had good luck with it, give the Reeses ice cream recipe a try. It’s the best ice cream I’ve ever had.

  3. I love our ice cream maker. I find I use it to make sorbet and granitas more often than ice cream. My favorites are raspberry with purple basil sorbet (or strawberry and basil), and basically just dumping in a bottle of champagne with a little lemon juice for a summer treat.

  4. Last night, I used a half gallon of whole milk chocolate milk, a cup of sugar, a cup of whipping cream, and a can of evaporated milk in our freezer. I let it run until it was almost all the way frozen, and it turned out great. It was very, very close in taste and consistency to a Frosty from Wendy’s.

Leave a Reply

