Peanut Butter Banana Mocha

Gallery

Last night I made this fabulous vegan dessert courtesy of Granola Meets Grits–it’s a delicious cross between mousse and ice cream that doesn’t require sugar, ice, or an ice cream maker. I loved it so much I wanted to replicate the flavor in a coffee drink.

We didn’t have any fresh bananas, but my mom keeps a bag of overripe bananas in the freezer. It turns out that a frozen banana is better than ice at keeping a drink cold and thick. I also wasn’t quite sure how to get the right coffee flavor. I thought about using cold coffee, but I didn’t want the coffee flavor to be the dominant flavor in this drink and I was worried that the water in the coffee would make the drink runny. Instead, this recipe uses a little bit of instant coffee granules for just a hint of coffee–I only used half a teaspoon or so, but you can use more or less (or none at all!) depending on your taste preference.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp chocolate syrup
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp instant coffee granules
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Combine the banana, milk, peanut butter, and chocolate syrup in the blender until well-combined. Begin adding instant granules 1/4 tsp at a time and taste before adding more. Add more granules for a stronger coffee flavor if you want. Pour into a glass or mug and topped with whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate syrup if you want.

P.S. I can’t imagine this not being fantastic with a splash of Kahlua. Give that a try if you’ve got some too!

4 responses »

  1. Yum, that looks DELICIOUS! What a fantastic idea. I never thought of adding a coffee flavor, but you are so right- it fits perfectly with the other ingredients. And your photograph is beautiful- nice presentation! I will definitely have to try your mocha adaptation soon. Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. This is a really cool idea. You should try real coffee instead of instant though, I always think instant tastes a bit of toast. I always think it loses something when it’s being processed.

Leave a Reply

