Coffee Granita Shake

Gallery

The daily temperatures in southeastern Pennsylvania have been hovering just under 100 degrees, but what makes living in this region so annoying is the humidity, not the heat. So I figured it was time to try something cold and icy. I attempted to make Espresso Sorbet from About.com: http://coffeetea.about.com/od/foodrecipes/r/espsorbet.htm.

I had two issues with it. First, the recipe says to serve, “When the sorbet is nearly frozen (still scoopable),” which I failed to notice, so I froze it overnight. The next morning, I woke up to a giant, unscoopable block of coffee ice. I let it sit out for a little bit and attempted to eat it, but that brings me to the second problem: it’s really gross by itself. Maybe I like my coffee sweeter than most people, but it had a burnt and watery aftertaste (probably because it sat in boiling water, which is a big no-no when brewing coffee).

So instead of just throwing it out, I scraped off as much as I could, added French vanilla ice cream, and threw it in the blender. It’s actually pretty good–the consistency is somewhere between a thick milkshake and a root beer float because it melts a bit in the blender. You get a nice coffee essence (and if there’s not enough “coffee” for you, just add more of the frozen slush) but it’s not as strong as coffee ice cream. Give it a try yourself:

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons espresso ground coffee
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1-2 cups French vanilla ice cream
Bring the water to a boil. Combine the coffee grounds and brown sugar. Add the boiling water and mix. Let it steep until the water cools, then strain out the coffee grounds (I recommend using the filter from your coffee maker). Pour the mixture into ice cube trays or a shallow dish and freeze for at least three hours.
After the coffee has solidified, let it sit out for 20 minutes or so, until you can scrape off some of the coffee. Scrape off 2-3 tablespoons of the coffee (or 1-2 coffee cubes) and place it in the blender. Add 1 cup of French vanilla ice cream and blend on medium-low until well combined but not melted.
7 responses »

    • I’d love to actually make the granita dessert the way you’re supposed to. Since mine ended up as a solid block of frozen coffee I had to improvise… 🙂

  1. You know, an ice cream maker could get that consistency down . . . . 🙂 I’m wondering how Teecino would be for sorbet, since I like it so much iced in the afternoon.

    • The more I browse the “Recipes” or “Food” tags in the summer, the more I realize I need to invest in an ice cream maker SOON.

    • Oh, Emily, you can survive without it, but it does make life a little nicer. You can get a lot smaller, quieter ones now than the one I have too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

