Cocoa Cappuccino

Gallery

I’m writing an e-book on coffee for college students, Coffee 101, that I hope to release for the Kindle in November 2011. I decided to remove a few of the espresso-based recipes so that the bulk of the recipes in the book use regular drip coffee instead of espresso. Here’s one of the recipes that didn’t make the final draft but is still a delicious coffee drink.

cocoa cappuccino

This cocoa cappuccino is like a mocha latte, but with more milk foam (that’s what makes it a cappuccino). It’s very sweet, so you won’t need any sugar or creamer, especially if you drizzle syrup on top.

Ingredients:

  • 2 fluid ounces espresso
  • 2 tablespoons chocolate syrup*
  • 4 fluid ounces milk
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Whisk together the espresso and chocolate syrup until the syrup is thoroughly mixed in and doesn’t sink to the bottom.  Pour the milk into a jar with a lid and shake vigorously for 30 seconds. Remove the lid and microwave for 30 seconds or until milk foam forms on top. Pour the milk into the coffee and spoon the foam on top. Drizzle with chocolate syrup and add a small dollop of whipped cream if you want.

*If you want, you can dissolve a few teaspoons of cocoa powder into the espresso instead of chocolate syrup, but I recommend using syrup.

7 responses »

  1. This looks incredible and I really like the glasses you’re using.
    I also like the mentality that coffee shouldn’t cost more than a book. I will definitely be downloading your Coffee 101.

    • Thank you! There’s an excerpt from the book on my about me page, you can view it as a PDF if you want to see what’s going to be in the book.

    • The thing that made me want to write an ebook about coffee geared toward the young adult/college crowd is the fact that I had to write a really snooty and basically useless ebook called The Art of Coffee for an internship I did this summer (I would link to it, but it’s honestly not worth your time). I was doing research for it and noticed that there are almost no books for regular people who don’t have fancy espresso machines and expensive taste buds.

      Coffee 101 is my attempt to make coffee cheap but accessible to people on a budget. I’m also keeping the book at what I believe to be a modest price, $1.99, since I’m hoping to target college-age readers and, being one myself, I know how tight money can be. Right now I have the book completely compiled, and I’m working on the cover art. It should be live on Amazon on August 1.

      Thanks for asking. 🙂 If you know anybody who you think would enjoy the book, please feel free to point them toward the PDF excerpt because I think it’s a nice snapshot of what the whole book is about (better than the preview you can get from Amazon).

Leave a Reply

